National Pension Scheme (NPS) Eligibility - Check Criteria for Tier I and Tier II Accounts
  • Personal
  • Business
  • Corporate
  • Private Banking
  • Privy League
  • NRI Services
  • Investors
  • Personal
  • Business
  • Corporate
  • Private Banking
  • Privy League
  • NRI Services
  • Investors

Verify your eligibility for NPS tax benefits. All Indian citizens aged 18-70 can now save up to Rs. 62,400 for a secure retirement. Join us today!

NPS Eligibility

Understanding the National Pension Scheme eligibility requirements is the key to your financially secure retirement. To ensure a comfortable future, explore the benefits of NPS, and start your journey toward long-term financial stability. Take the first step today!

NPS Eligibility Criteria for Citizens of India

Why is Eligibility a Crucial Factor When Considering NPS?

The National Pension Scheme (NPS) is a government-regulated, voluntary retirement savings scheme offering financial security during retirement. To participate in this scheme, it's essential to meet specific eligibility criteria based on your citizenship, age, and KYC compliance.

Eligibility Criteria Overview

Criteria All Citizen Model Central Government/CABs State Government/SABs Corporate Model

Age Range

18-70 years

18-60 years

18-60 years

18-70 years


Indian Citizen +NRI & OCI

Indian Citizen (NRI+OCI) basis the department rules & regulations

Indian Citizen(NRI+OCI) basis the department rules & regulations

Indian Citizen + NRI + OCI

KYC Compliance





Key Highlights of The NPS Eligibility Criteria

For Indian citizens, there are four primary NPS categories: All Citizen Model, Central Government/Central Autonomous Bodies (CABs), State Government/State Autonomous Bodies (SABs), and the Corporate Model. Each category has slightly different eligibility criteria.

  1. Age Range In the All Citizen Model, NPS is open to individuals between 18 and 70 years of age. The beauty of the scheme lies in its inclusivity, allowing the younger generation to start saving for retirement early. In contrast, other categories, including Central Government/CABs, State Government/SABs, and Corporate Model, have age restrictions depending upon the HR policy. It means anyone can join NPS at any age, making it a versatile savings option for everyone.
  2. Citizenship NPS is exclusively available to Indian citizens, additionally NRIs & OCIs are also allowed to operate NPS Tier-1 account. This requirement ensures that the scheme serves its primary purpose—providing a secure and sustainable financial future for the citizens of the country.
  3. KYC Compliance All NPS subscribers must comply with the KYC norms regardless of the category. KYC, or Know Your Customer, is a standard practice used by financial institutions to verify the identity of their customers. This step is vital for security and regulatory purposes.

Who Is Not Eligible for NPS?

It's also essential to note that Hindu Undivided Families (HUFs) and Persons of Indian Origin (PIOs) are not eligible to participate in the National Pension Scheme. This limitation emphasises the scheme's focus on the financial well-being of Indian citizens.

Understanding and fulfilling the NPS eligibility criteria is vital to securing your financial future during retirement. Whether you're a young professional, a central government employee, or working in the corporate sector, NPS caters to your specific needs.

Eligibility for Tier I and Tier II Accounts

The NPS offers two account types: Tier I and Tier II, each with a similar structure. Tier 1 is focused on retirement savings, requiring a minimum initial contribution of Rs 500. Subscribers can withdraw 60% of the corpus at retirement tax-free, with the remaining 40% used for annuities.

In contrast, Tier II is an open-access account with a minimum investment of Rs 1,000. Withdrawals generally take three days, and you can withdraw the full amount or make multiple withdrawals without limits. Understanding these differences is helpful for smart investing.

Eligibility Requirements | Tier I vs. Tier II

Parameters NPS Tier I Account NPS Tier II Account


Indian citizens aged 18 to 70 are eligible.

Requires an active NPS Tier I account.

Lock-in Period

Funds are locked until the subscriber reaches 60.

No lock-in period offers greater liquidity.

Minimum Contribution

Rs 500

Rs 1,000 while registration post that minimum Rs. 250 for subsequent contribution.

Tax Benefits on Contribution

Deductions up to Rs 1.5 lakhs under Sec 80CCD (1). If part of corporate NPS then additionally, 10% of Basic+DA is allowed u/s 80CCD(2) with overall capping of Rs. 7.5lakhs (this includes Employer’s contribution towards PF + SAF+NPS)

No specific tax benefits on contributions.

Taxation on Withdrawal

60% lumpsum withdrawal is Tax-exempt at maturity.

Taxed at the applicable income tax slab rate.

Understanding these differences helps you choose the NPS account type that best suits your financial goals and preferences.

Frequently Asked Questions


1. Who is eligible to join the National Pension Scheme (NPS)?

Eligibility for the National Pension Scheme (NPS) is inclusive, targeting Indian citizens between 18 and 70 years. This broad spectrum encompasses everyone, from salaried employees to self-employed professionals and non-resident Indians (NRIs).

2. What is the minimum age requirement for enrolling in NPS?

The minimum age requirement to join NPS is 18 years, ensuring that young individuals can initiate their retirement savings journey early on.

3. Are government employees eligible for NPS?

Yes, government employees are eligible for NPS. The scheme is accessible to both government and non-government employees, offering a comprehensive solution for retirement planning.

4. How much monthly pension will I get from NPS?

NPS doesn't guarantee a fixed monthly pension. The pension amount depends on the accumulated corpus, returns on investments, and the choice of annuity plan at retirement. The scheme provides flexibility and choice for individuals to tailor their post-retirement income.

5. Who is eligible for the NPS scheme?

Eligibility for the NPS scheme extends to a wide range of Indian citizens, including government and non-government employees and self-employed professionals.

6. What is Active Choice in NPS?

Active Choice in NPS empowers subscribers to manage their investments actively. They can choose their asset allocation, including equity, corporate bonds, and government securities, based on their risk tolerance and financial goals.

7. What is Auto Choice in NPS?

Auto Choice in NPS is designed to simplify retirement planning. It automatically adjusts the asset allocation over the years, moving from higher risk (equity) to lower risk (debt) investments as the subscriber approaches retirement. This feature ensures a smoother transition to a more conservative portfolio with age.

8. What is a Pension Fund Manager (PFM)?

A Pension Fund Manager (PFM) is an integral component of NPS. PFMs are entities responsible for managing the investments within the scheme, adhering to the specified guidelines and strategies to maximise returns while mitigating risk.

How to apply for National Pension Scheme



Ready to take the next step?